Meimei’s Chinese New Year Dress …

came out beautifully.

She has an existing Chinese blouse and pants bought by her aunt from Shanghai, so I followed the pattern on that blouse. Using the fabric as I mentioned in the plan, the result came out so well. This is the most beautiful part of the dress, and it motivated me to finish it.

girl's dress, chinese accent, 2T, chinese new year dress, children cheongsam

The colour palette actually becomes quite peranakan. This was totally unplanned. The turquoise part was planned to be the printed as per the collar, but I changed my mind as it might be too flowery.

The collar is a great design because it fakes the design on the real cheongsam without standing up and “strangling” the wearer.

chinese knots button

These Chinese knot buttons were handmade. If I were to name them, I’ll call them “please kill me”. They may look simple but were alot of trouble to make! I searched the Chinese web to find how to make and was sent all over the place without much success. Then I youtubed it, and bravo, got the video on how to make a celtic knot in a giffy. Yay, youtube! That was all I needed.

I saw such buttons selling at Chinatown when I was there last week. I wanted to buy but was hesitant cos I wasn’t sure about making Meimei’s dress yet. I’m just thankful it’s over. I don’t know how that original chinese blouse and pants was selling at SGD8 in Shanghai but I kowtow the tailor who made them.

girl's dress, chinese accent, 2T, chinese new year dress, children cheongsam

Dress…I love love LOVE this fabric. Beautiful, beauitful fabric.  It’s Bliss Paisley in Aqua by Bonnie and Camille. I bought them when my Dear was in US.

If clothe maketh a person, then I say this fabric maketh this dress.🙂

My happy customer and the full dress view.  喜欢吗,妹妹? 喜欢啊?给钱!

The waistline I followed the dress in this post. She was very comfortable in that dress. Comfort is very important.

Backview.

More?

It’s not over yet, the armhole is a tad too small and I have to alter them. She asked to change out of it just now because of discomfort.  Also need to finish the inside seams…blueh..

Conclusion, I just made a Chinese accented dress using US designed fabric in a peranakan colour palette. How’s that for global integration?🙂

_______________________________________________________________

Please visit my etsy shop Inagaki’s Shop for zakka sewing accessories fabric.

I have entered this dress in the Lil Blue Boo Design Challenge organised by Lil Blue Boo!

This entry was posted in Creations, General, pictures, 宝贝. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Meimei’s Chinese New Year Dress …

  1. UC says:

    小姐,你真的很厉害。我可以封你为偶像了……

    我真的很喜欢这一条裙子,尤其turquoise颜色,好美啊。白白的妹妹穿起来好有气质哦。

    我是认真的……妹妹穿不下,啊然后你确定不要有老三老四的时候,这一条裙子卖给我……虽然我不知道我会不会一定有女儿,不过,我真的很喜欢这一条裙子咯。

    你可以开店了,就只是买这一款裙子就一定很受落。

    (惨了,jess有competitor了,呵呵。)

    • earthtone says:

      Thanks for your compliment. =) *轻飘飘*
      I dunno if you want the 2nd hand one, I dun wash so well leh..hahaha..
      Let’s see the condition again later ok?
      But if you have a girl later, you can buy the fabric and I make one for you.🙂

      Thanks for the great support though. As for selling, I haven’t hatched a plan yet..Not so easy, so much work leh..😛 *lazy*

  2. Jess says:

    这是健康的竞争。。。我不怕的。。。哈哈。。。。

    真的,这裙是很美,很美。。。美国布的确不一样哦。。。。

    我也支持你开店噢!加油。。。。

    • earthtone says:

      好样的, Jesslyn! “我不怕!”

      也建议你买一些美国布来做。收贵多一点我想也有人买的。Seriously, I really think the fabric maketh the dress here.
      他们的布看得我眼花缭乱,美呆了。

  3. snowybabie says:

    mei mei so cute in the dress🙂

  4. 湘绣蜻蜓 says:

    哗!!很美!!
    我觉得妳真的很有天分,颜色也配搭得很好.
    现在会用sewing machine的人已经很少了,很羡慕你咧!!

  5. Pingback: 随手拈来 » Blog Archive » 子颜的新衣

  6. Joanna says:

    Hi there! I think your dress is darling and was hoping that you might add it to my Easter and Spring Linking Party to share with my readers. If you are interested, you can go here http://bakedbyjoanna.blogspot.com/2011/04/easter-linking-party.html to enter. Thanks!

    • earthtone says:

      Hi Joanna, thanks for you invitation. I’d love to take part in a linking party, however this dress doesn’t seem to fit in with the Easter theme. I’d feel so out of place. You have a very nice blog, by the way..:)

  7. Pingback: We Won ! | Earthtone

  8. nicole says:

    Love the fake collar- that is something that bugged my daughter last year, so I didn’t make her an outfit this year. Can I ask what pattern you took it from?

    Thanks so much- the dress is adorable and an inspiration!

    • earthtone says:

      Hi, Thanks so much for your compliment! =)
      I followed the design on an existing blouse, do not have a pattern.
      You may want to look at the pictures closely and figure it out.

  9. Pingback: Lil Blue Boo / Dharma Trading Design Challenge Winners! | Ashley Hackshaw / Lil Blue Boo

Leave a Reply

